Confidence

One of Autism Boy’s most incredible qualities is his self-confidence. He could care less what other people think.

When he first started wearing ear defenders  to block the noise of the other children on the play ground the school staff balked because it made him look different. When he added sunglasses because the light was hurting his eyes, they nearly had a conniption and said that it would make him a target for bullying.

So as any good parent would, Exhaust Daddy and I sat Autism Boy down and asked him what he thought. In his words, “Why would other people care what I wear. Don’t they have other things to worry about. It makes me happy. I don’t care what other people think.”

Last night Exhausted Daddy and I cuddled up on the couch and watched “Big Daddy.”  When the child came on the screen dressed in boots, underwear, superhero cape and tie for ninja belt, I could not help but laugh. That is just like Autism Boy. Self Confidence!

The next time you are in a store and see a child dressed in what he or she has clearly chosen as their special outfit, smile and know that they have confidence.

6 thoughts on “Confidence

  1. I am the mom of my own precious little girl. She is four and has mental insufficiency and is suspected to be on the autism spectrum as well. I recently found your blog and I LOVE it! You have a way of writing that captures most of what we as a family experience. Your title really called out to me, as we, too, ate sleepless and heavily caffienated! Thanks for shedding light on our journey.

Leave a Reply

